Medical marijuana card (MMJ), issued by the state of Texas, identifies a qualifying patient or designated caregiver. This card is for patients with serious conditions as defined under Section 4 of Texas’s amended Compassionate Use Act. House Bill restricts access to cannabis and its derivatives with a maximum THC content of 1%. Texas is one of 14 US states that have yet to pass comprehensive laws that allow medical marijuana use. The state does have medical marijuana program, which is growing to better accommodate medical conditions. A modification to the Compassion Act was passed. It will take effect in September 2021. The new law allows qualified Texas patients to have access to cannabis and other products, other than CBD oil. The Act will only allow patients to obtain cannabis for medical purposes if they are residents of the state with a written certification from a doctor that qualifies them for a medical marijuana Texas card.
The Texas Department of Public Safety has been charged under the Texas Compassionate Use Act with administering the compassionate-use program. This department is responsible to issue and renew medical cannabis cards. The Act requires that the department create and maintain an identity registry to verify cardholders’ identities. The department will also have to publish statistics on the issuance of medical marijuana cards in all counties of the state.
Who Can Apply For An MMJ Card In Texas?
A Texas compassionate care program allows a qualified patient or designated caregiver to obtain a medical marijuana card. The applicant should be at least 18 years old, reside in Texas, and have been diagnosed with one of listed conditions.
These people may not be granted medical marijuana card if they do not meet the following criteria:
- Incorrectly completed applications
- Information errors
- Prior felony charge
How Can A Minor Obtain A Texas Medical Marijuana Card?
A minor under 18 years old who has qualified medical condition can get a Texas medical marijuana card. A parent or legal guardian can only get a medical marijuana card for a minor under the compassionate use program. A parent or legal guardian must be present for a minor to be eligible for an MMJ card.
- A Texas-licensed physician can diagnose you and has been certified by the Compassionate Use Institutional Review Board.
- The diagnosis must prove that the minor has any qualifying medical conditions.
- A written application for minors.
- Attached should be a copy of the physician’s recommendation and evidence of diagnosis for a qualifying condition.
- You must show proof that you are parent or legal guardian.
What Conditions Are Required To Obtain Texas Medical Marijuana Card?
Texas has strict regulations regarding cannabis use. Not all medical conditions are eligible for Texas medical marijuana cards. If you have a condition or illness that is not accepted for medical marijuana treatment in Texas, your application could be denied. If you have one of these debilitating, life-threatening medical conditions, you may be eligible for a Texas medical marijuana card.
- A seizure disorder
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis, (ALS)
- An incurable neurodegenerative disease
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS).
- End-stage cancer
How Can I Apply For A Medical Marijuana Card?
Anyone eligible for compassionate use may apply on the Department of Public Safety’s CURRENT system. To access licensed doctors, qualified patients must use the system. Because of the strict nature of Texas’ medical marijuana program, only licensed physicians can issue diagnoses via the platform. A prescription from the doctor would be required to accompany any diagnosis. Qualified patients can provide their information at any of three licensed dispensaries within Texas. Texas-licensed dispensaries can access the registry to provide information about the patient’s prescription and diagnosis.